Tula Pink Cloudy Days – Part 2

It’s done! It’s done! Tula Pink’s bold designs came bursting onto my radar about a year ago when a lovely in my guild was selling some fat quarter bundles of one of her lines. I stopped and stared at the bold, colourful, completely out of my norm colors and patterns, and then realized I needed them.

Cloudy Days pattern is my second quilt using one of Tula’s collections, but my first time using a pattern of hers. I found myself somewhat limited with this one, being that I only had fat quarters and one print of yardage to work with. I quickly found out that the largest of the raindrops is not fq friendly, so I just made more of the small and medium ones.

It’s taken forever for me to get this one basted and quilted thanks to so many other projects catching my eye, and very limited time to work on quilting thanks to four happy healthy kids. That’s one reason I never balk at not having enough time. Those girls are my world, and I’m so happy that the two oldest, who are big enough to sew now, seem to enjoy spending time in the sewing room as much as I do.

Thanks to that limited time, I did no quilting in the grey borders/sashing etc. I simply did continuous inside tracings of the raindrops using my BSR and free motion quilting. Still not comfortable with my FMQ, but they say it takes practice, so we’ll go with that. img_9937img_9941

2 thoughts on “Tula Pink Cloudy Days – Part 2

  1. I love your quilts AND your comments. Oh, by the way … my birthday is in two weeks and I sure would love the Tula Pinks Cloudy Day quilt… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

